Obligatory Banned Books Week post

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that we’re in the middle of Banned Books Week.  I usually do a lot more for BBW, but life got in the way this year, and I don’t have a post planned.

I did just finish reading Looking for Alaska, though (DFTBA, John Green) and I understand that has been challenged a handful of times. Because we all know that no teenager in the history of teenagers has ever smoked or gotten drunk.  EVER.  And if they have, fuck ‘em.  We shouldn’t be writing books with characters they can relate to, amirite?  A challenge to this book makes zero sense.

It’s been kind of a big year for challenged books, what with the numbskull school board in Missouri voting to ban both Slaughterhouse Five and Twenty Boy Summer (The board members openly admitted to not having read the books.  Which raises the question, how do you make it to an adulthood where you claim to value education and have never fucking read Slaughterhouse Five? Seriously?  How the fuck does that happen?  I’m a little leary of any grownup who has never read Vonnegut, but to be a member of a school board, and have power to make educational decisions and not have read it?  Fucking assholes.)

Because Kurt Vonnegut is an American treasure, his memorial library provided copies of Slaughterhouse Five for free to any student from that district who requested it.  And they recently had Sarah Ockler (author of the other banned book) come speak for Banned Books Week.  Vonnegut is still fighting the good fight from beyond the grave.  Or, as he would say in his dry humanist way, from heaven.

By the way, the douche canoe who made the complaints against the book homeschools his kids.  And he also made past complaints about Laurie Halse Anderson’s beautiful Speak, and Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.  So I think I speak for everyone here when I say, Fuck You, Wesley Scroggins.

Anyway, if you want to read more Banned Books Week posts, I’d urge you to check out my BBW event from last year.

Happy reading!  Fuck censorship!

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in banned books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obligatory Banned Books Week post

  1. Stephanie says:

    I love absolutely everything about this post. Everything. Fuck censorship, indeed. Nothing makes me want to read a book more than someone telling me I shouldn’t read it.

Leave a Reply

