Yay for used books!

I went to the Goodwill the other day to look for a coat to replace an old worn out coat. (Found one for eight bucks, SCORE!) and checked out the books. They were TOTALLY lacking in any young adult books. But guess what I discovered right in the same shopping center? The Montgomery County Friends of the Library used book store! Are you telling me that this has been right in my neighborhood all this time and I’ve never realized it???? Shame on me!

So I got Deenie, Blubber and It’s Not the End of the World by Judy Blume, A Time for Andrew by Mary Downing Hahn…..and two more that are escaping me at the moment. I REALLY wanted Just as Long as We’re Together by Judy Blume because I freaking LOVED that book, but that seems to be the only one of her books I’m having trouble finding via library or used book store. I also got a Curious George and a Frank & Ernest for my son. He really wanted a Clifford book, but I couldn’t find any. The best part is that the books were only Fifty Cents each! Double Score!

I started a new blog. Because I’m a big dork. Actually, I’ve had a more personal blog on myspace for about three years now. But I’m not really in to the myspace much anymore, and neither are any of my friends who were readers. So I just transferred that blog over her to Blogger. It’s right here, in case you’re interested.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in general. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yay for used books!

  1. BananaBomb says:

    I’ve been looking for more Judy Blume for a long time and can never find any. Good for you! I still have my copy of Just As Long As We’re Together from childhood. It’s sooo beat up (held together with packing tape) but I’ll never get rid of it. :p

  2. colleenn says:

    I’m FINALLY getting caught up on your blog. 🙂 I hadn’t read any blogs in about a month, it was pathetic. And I’m checking out your personal blog too.There is a slight chance I may have two copies of Just As Long As We’re Together. I feel like I bought one for myself and then also received one as a gift, but I could be making that up. In any case, next time I’m at my parents’ house (probably Thanksgiving or the weekend before), if I think of it I’ll rummage through my old books down the cellar and see what I can find. If I have two copies, I’d send you one. 🙂 But like I said, I’m not sure if I ever had two to begin with or if one managed to disappear over the years.

  3. nikki says:

    You rock Colleenn!! Keep me updated. By the way, I was sooo glad you updated your blog again, and you chose a GREAT episode to recap 🙂

Leave a Reply

