My List

So this year, I kept track (through goodreads.com) of all the books I read in 2008. Here is my list. (*Note, I only included SOME of the books I read for this blog. I included any that were written for kids over 13-ish, like Forever and No More Saturday Nights. I also included any that I thought could be easily enjoyed by young adults and grown ups alike. So it’s purely subjective. But you know…..my list, my rules!) Oh, and I included audiobooks. Now on to 2009!

If it’s in bold, I highly recommend it!

1. The No-Cry Sleep Solution; Elizabeth Pantley, Ph.D.
2-The Discomfort Zone; Jonathan Franzen
3-In a Sunburned Country; Bill Bryson
4-The Golden Compass; Philip Pullman
5-The Subtle Knife; Philip Pullman
6-The Amber Spyglass; Philip Pullman
7- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows; JK Rowling (audiobook, read by Jim Dale)
8- Andy Roddick Beat Me With a Frying Pan; Todd Gallagher
9. I am America (And So Can You); Stephen Colbert
10. I am Legend; Richard Matheson
11. Divisadero (audiobook); Michael Ondaatje, read by Hope Davis
12. The Other Boleyn Girl; Phillipa Gregory
13. New Moon; Stephenie Meyer
14. Run; Ann Patchett
15. Lost & Found; Carolyn Parkhurst
16. The Road; Cormac McCarthy
17. Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire (audiobook); JK Rowling, read by Jim Dale
18. The Magician’s Assistant; Ann Patchett
19. Eclipse; Stephenie Meyer
20. Shoot the Moon; Billie Letts
21. The Inheritance of Loss; Kiran Desai
22. Naptime is the New Happy Hour; Stefanie Wilder-Taylor
23. Candy Girl, A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper; Diablo Cody
24. The Namesake; Jhumpa Lahiri
25. Memory of Running; Ron McLarty
26. Possible Side Effects: Augusten Burroughs
27. Harry Potter & The Prisoner of Azkaban (audio book); J.K. Rowling, read by Jim Dale
28. The Host; Stephenie Meyer
29. Object Lessons: Anna Quindlin
30. Practical Magic; Alice Hoffman
31. Interpreter of Maladies; Jhumpa Lahiri
32. On Writing; Stephen King
33. North River; Pete Hamill
34. Carrie; Stephen King
35. The Probable Future; Alice Hoffman
36. Are you There God? It’s Me, Margaret; Judy Blume
37. Silver; Norma Fox Mazer
38. Year of Wonders: Geraldine Brooks
39. Tallahassee Higgins: Mary Downing Hahn
40. Breaking Dawn; Stephenie Meyer
41. With You and Without You; Ann Martin
42. Attack of the Theater People; Marc Acito
43. No More Saturday Nights; Norma Klein
44. The Robber Bride; Margaret Atwood
45. Digging to America; Anne Tyler
46. Deenie; Judy Blume
47. Tiger Eyes; Judy Blume
48. The Book Thief; Markus Zusak
49. The Onion’s Our Dumb World Atlas (audiobook)
50. Unaccustomed Earth; Jhumpa Lahiri
51. The Handmaid’s Tale; Margaret Atwood
52. I’m a Stranger Here Myself: Bill Bryson
53. The Pinballs; Betsy Byars
54. Bridge of Sighs; Richard Russo
55. Stiff, The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers; Mary Roach
56. Forever; Judy Blume
57. Fates Worse than Death; Kurt Vonnegut*****
58. The Stupidest Angel (audiobook); Christopher Moore, read by Tony Roberts.
59. How to Be Alone (audiobook); Jonathan Franzen, read by the author.

So….59 books! That’s quite a haul for a gal who works 32 hours a week AND has a toddler to chase. I really do plan on recapping Forever sometime this weekend. So keep your panties on (because Katherine sure doesn’t!)

*****This is a maybe. If I finish it tonight, it will be a 2008 book. If not, it will be a 2009 book. So far, it’s the only Vonnegut book that I haven’t been head over heels in love with. So it goes.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My List

  1. Taren says:

    Way to go -I’m in awe of your total! And Jim Dale reading Harry Potter is the most relaxing thing ever!

  2. BananaBomb says:

    I tried to read McCarthy’s The Road. I got maybe a chapter or two in but I just couldn’t keep going. Too dry maybe? (And I had no idea who Cormac McCarthy was, I just liked the premise.) Too bad. I wish I read more grown-up books.On a side note, we’re in Kansas again, and I found Just As Long As We’re Together for you! And it’s in really good shape. Email me your address and I’ll send it out on Monday.

  3. Sarah says:

    I’ve seen a lot of people posting reading lists from 2008. Thanks for the reminder – I want to do it for this year.

  4. Sarah says:

    Oh man, Year of Wonders is my favorite book EVER! And so few people have read it.

Leave a Reply

