The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. Win it. Love it.

Taren at The Chick Manifesto recently reviewed the book The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. Click on the link to read it. It sounded so good, I went and requested it from paperbackswap.com. There was a little screw up with my order (the guy from whom I ordered it sent it, but didn’t mark it mailed, so paperbackswap automatically requested it from another posting member.)

Long story short — I have two copies now, which is one more than I need. Instead of posting it back on paperbackswap, I thought I’d give it away to one of my readers. Um…which is another idea I learned from Taren.

By the way, I’m about halfway through the book and so far, so good! I might review it myself when it’s done, if I have the time. Also, I’d like to point out that this novel was listed on Time Magazine’s 100 greatest English-language novels of all time.

Here’s how you can win it:

1-Leave a comment to get one entry.
2-Link me on your blog to get another entry.
3- Become a follower to get one entry.
4- Get two entries by having already been a follower.

Good luck!

**EDIT- I should probably have mentioned that the contest ends next Tuesday.

**ANOTHER EDIT- I finished the book last night. It was really good. Not at all what I expected. Muriel Spark is very sparse with her language. There is nothing in that book that you don’t need to know. I don’t think there is a single extraneous word. It took me a few chapters to get used to the style, but once I did, I really enjoyed the book, and I’m still thinking about it a day later.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in contest, general. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. Win it. Love it.

  1. Kathryn says:

    I’m not entering to win – I have a copy of the book, and I adore it as well 🙂 but I didn’t know it was considered one of the Top 100 Books. I clicked on the list, out of curiousity, and am embarassed that as both an English major and a Junior in college, I’ve only read 10 of the books. I’ve heard of most of them, though, if that counts!

  2. Taren says:

    Yay I’m glad you liked the review enough to get a copy. You have to check out the film, too. It’s a little different, but Maggie Smith is amazing!Oh and I haven’t forgotten about your book or anything. I’ve had a really stressful/busy week, but I should be able to get it out soon.

  3. Sadako says:

    Nikki, I’m not entering to win, but I nominated you for an award on my blog and wanted to let you know:http://dibblyfresh1.blogspot.com/

  4. Becky says:

    I’d love to be entered.BeckyP.s. I’m a follower.

  5. tetewa says:

    I’d like to be included, count me in! tWarner419@aol.com

  6. Diana Dang says:

    Please enter me! I have linked this to my blog: http://www.orientaldesires.blogspot.com

  7. Stephanie says:

    I’d like to enter!Sbvasconcellos@gmail.comThanks,Stephanie

  8. Kelly says:

    Oh- I love that book! I did my senior capstone class on Muriel Spark- you should also read “The Girls of Slender Means.” Also- there is a movie starring Maggie Smith that is awesome!

  9. Oh, I would love to win! Summer reading! I’m also a follower now. 🙂

  10. Jenna says:

    Wow, sounds interesting! I’m game. Count me in!I now follow your blog.Contact: jennapomme@yahoo.com

  11. Lalaland says:

    It’s sounds really interesting!I’m a follower.And I blogged about it.http://faladidadida.blogspot.com/2009/03/updates_23.html

  12. Cat says:

    I would like to be entered in the contest. I am now a follower.spandex123@gmail.com

  13. Rumor says:

    AFAIC th’ats the best answer so far!

Leave a Reply

