Awards make me happy

I got an award from Children of the 90’s. Go me! She tagged me as a fellow Queen of all things awesome. Or Awe-summm. So I have to list seven things that make me awesome. Not me personally, my blog. Or rather, the topic of my blog. So here goes:

1. Judy Blume. Blubber nothwithstanding, Judy Blume is my fucking hero. I love her style, but mostly I love that she is a strong advocate for intellectual freedom and fighting the banning of books. Banned Books Week = Nikki’s most wonderful time of the year.

2. BSC. OK, I haven’t done too much with the BSC because of the plethora of BSC related materials out there in blogland. BUT I made a list of my five BSC faves and I am going to review them. FYI, in order my favorites are 1-Logan Likes Mary Anne, 2-The Camp Mohwak Super Special (don’t remember the name), 3-The Ghost at Dawn’s House (the only decent Dawn book), 4-Claudia and Mean Janine, and 5-Jessi’s Secret Language.

3. The Cunt Log. (apologies again for the use of the word Cunt). So far, the Cunt Log consists of Jessica Wakefield (of Sweet Valley), Jill Brenner (Blubber) and Jana Morgan (Taffy Sinclair Series). Admit it, you love the word cunt as much as I do. Also, I’m trying to find a good photo to use everytime I add another character to the cunt log. But I’m trying to avoid a picture of an actual vagina. Because I’m no smut peddler.
***EDIT: I must not forget Nancy Wheeler from Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret. The original cunt.

4. Mary Downing Hahn. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. There is no justice in a world where the books of Francine Pascal and Stephenie Meyer have outsold the books of this fine author by the MILLIONS.

5. Angst. Because it is a YA blog after all. And where would adolescence be without a little angst? Just ask Spencer from The Wind Blows Backward. He’s all angst and no substance. Also, my next book review, Up Country by Alden Carter is pretty angsty. So — yay!

6. Jerry Spinelli. Kind of reiterating a very recent blog, but the dude can fucking write. And I will not rest until I finally find copies of Space Station Seventh Grade AND Jason and Marceline.

7.Non book reviews. Because there was more to my adolescence than books. (OK, not much). I have a very special surprise for my dear readers. It’s sitting at the top of my Netflix queue right now. Should I ruin the surprise for you? How about a hint? OK – Happy Harry Hard-on. If you know what that refers to, check back in the next couple weeks for a recap, one I am FANTASTICALLY excited to do!

I am more than happy to spread the good word and bestow this wonderful award/albatross on the following blogs:

Stoneybrookite – for all your BSC love.

BSC Rediculosity – for more BSC love.

Dibbly Fresh – for total snarkability

Hey Lady, Watcha Reading – Excellent book reviews, and not just YA books. Big people books, which I do occasionally read.

Live it, love it. Because if you want to read something hilarious and squirm-inducing, check out her TMI Thursdays.

Check ’em out!

Fucking Penguins, just dropped one to the stinkin’ Caps. Damn.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in award, general. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Awards make me happy

  1. Sadako says:

    Thanks, Nikki! Love those other blogs, too. And just discovered Live it, love it–it’s great fun.I agree with your cunt log. But you can’t leave off the original cunt, Nancy from Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret. Margaret showed incredible self control not telling everyone that Nancy lied about her period and then freaked out when she did get it unexpectedly. Ha!

  2. BananaBomb says:

    Nikki, you are the shizz! Thank you!

  3. Haha, the cunt log. SO funny. I CAN’T BELIEVE Sadako just named Nancy from Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret, because I was about to suggest her until I scrolled down! I mean, seriously, what a bitch (Nancy, that is). I guess great YA minds think alike 🙂

  4. nikki says:

    Hol-eeee Shit! I can’t believe I forgot Nancy, the original cunt. AYTGIMM was my very first post on my blog, before I dreamed up the cunt log. So let me say right here, right now, that Nancy Wheeler is the first cunt on the cunt log! I will edit the post now.

  5. LiLu says:

    The Cunt Log?? Is this a tag I can click? FABULOSITY.Thanks so much for the shout-out, love! Much appreesh 🙂

  6. trish says:

    Yay! Thanks for the award! You totally made my day. :o) And I love your awesome list.

  7. Kelly says:

    Ooooh, I know, I know! Cannot WAIT to see that post. 🙂

  8. Caitlin says:

    The Cunt Log is the best idea ever. Can we add Karen Brewer?? Or perhaps an Annoying Shit Log would be better?

  9. Congrats on the award!

Leave a Reply

