Judy Blume Love. And a Judy Blume giveaway

I swear, I have pictures of the National Book Festival. I just can’t upload them at the moment because they’re on my computer and I’m writing this from my husband’s computer. If I get a chance this weekend, I’ll edit this post and add some pics.

SO! I started off Banned Books Week 2009 by attending the National Book Festival in DC last Saturday. My hero, Judy Blume was there. And it was a fucking madhouse. I’d been to NBF the last two years and the crowd was HUGE this year. Even with the rainy weather. A good portion of that crowd HAD to be because Judy Blume was there. She was a fucking ROCK STAR!!!

First, they had three lines roped off to accommodate people waiting to get their books signed by her. Her signing started at 11:30 a.m. I got there at 11:00 on the nose, and I was at the end of the fourth line. By the time 11:30 rolled around, there were thirteen single file half-block long lines for Judy Blume. Far more than for John Grisham, Jeannette Walls, James Patterson, John Irving, Junot Diaz or the many many other authors there. The greatest thing is that my fangirliness was not at all unusual in that line 🙂

So, after about an hour or so, I get up to get Tiger Eyes signed. (And let me tell you, it had been sooooo difficult to decide which one to get signed.) And I naturally get tongue-tied, because I’ve never been to a book-signing where I haven’t. (All those things I wanted to say to Michael Chabon, but never did!!!) But Judy took care of that, by telling me that she and her son are working on a screenplay for Tiger Eyes! That’s right folks, you heard it here first. A fucking Tiger Eyes screenplay! Squeeee!!!

Then I had hours to kill, and I wandered around (alone….my awesome mom watched Grady for the day!) and listened to some random authors speaking, trying to get out of the rain. (Side note: I’m totally going to read The Spiderwick Chronicles because the author and illustrator were completely fucking charming speakers….) and visiting random booths collecting library ephemera, bookmarks and kiddie stuff for Grady.

Finally….at long last…..it was 5:00 and the last speaker of the day was Judy Blume. The tent was packed, standing room only, with a crowd outside the tent about twenty people deep. And her rock star status was cemented as she got a standing-O. I would sit here and tell you all about what she spoke of, but you can watch it or listen to it for yourself!!!! Many thanks to C-Span for providing the webcasts!

Seriously, my love for Judy Blume knows no bounds. (OK…Blubber might be that limit. But there’s always gotta be one stinker). It’s difficult for me to explain what her books meant to me in adolescence, a time when I was deeply unhappy. Reading her books taught me that ordinary was a good thing to be. I’ve always felt like a Blume-girl. Oh and then when I first read Wifey when I was like fifteen….forgettaboutit. So hot. And probably cemented my love of a well-written sex scene!

So! In short. I love her I love her I love her.

Now…..on to this giveaway. When I was in the signing line, I met two lovely ladies (whose names I didn’t catch) now living in DC, but originally from Oregon. One of the ladies had met someone outside of the book sales tent who was giving away really old-school copies of Judy Blume books through Bookcrossing. So she took three copies, but found out that Judy was limited to sign one book per person. So, she gave me the other two copies to give away here.

So. Do you want, very old copies of Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing and Blubber? (I will admit that they are not in the greatest shape, but they do have those fabulous old covers!) Yeah, I thought you might. Here’s what you do:

1-Leave a comment for one entry
2-Link me on your blog, Facebook or Twitter, etc. for another entry. Let me know in your comment you’ve done that.
3-Get two entries for already being a follower.
4-One entry for becoming a new follower.

Contest ends October 19th. You must be in the U.S. or Canada to win.

Also, if you do win, remember that these are Bookcrossing books. So please hop on to Book Crossing’s website and enter where you got them. Though I certainly don’t expect you to re-release them unless you really want to!

So, start commenting! Good Luck!

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in contest, Judy Blume. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Judy Blume Love. And a Judy Blume giveaway

  1. Misty says:

    Oh, man, I loved Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing. For whatever reason, I never read a lot of Judy Blume. I think just this and one other one (Frecklejuice, maybe?)Anyway, I am a new follower, so +2 total.~Mistymbradenwf@gmail.com

  2. Sadako says:

    Hells, yeah.I'm commenting, plus I am already a follower (2), and you are now in my blog (http://dibblyfresh1.blogspot.com/)+4. YAY!dibblyfresh1@gmail.com

  3. Aye-aye, cap'n. I've commented all over the place (though some on my other name), and most specifically, last entry; tweeted about the giveaway under my username "What Kind of Girl"); and though I'm a long-time RSS follower on google reader, I just now joined up on Google Follow (which I usually don't use, as my blog is wordpress, on which the feature doesn't work.)Fun idea for a giveaway! Also, I'm so psyched to hear how many passionate book-lovers were prepared to stand in the rain for ages to see Judy Blume! Although personally, I probably would have been orbiting Mo Willems, trying to convince him to sign my full Elephant & Piggie collection. Swoon.

  4. Yes, please! Enter me! I'm commenting and I link to you and I just signed up to on Google ollo (2 keys are stuck…can you guess the ones?)I'm so happy you had such a good time. I'm so jealous! And I get horribly tongue tied around authors. It's very embarrassing.

  5. Amy says:

    Holy Christmas, I'm so jealous of your Judy Blume encounter!

  6. Sigh. I love both those books and I am SUPER jealous you got to meet Judy Blume! I love her! Please entire me.

  7. that should say enter me…

  8. Sadako says:

    Oops, sorry to post twice but I just recounted and I think I get five entries, not four. (One for posting, two for already being a follower, two for linking=five.)

  9. Sadako says:

    Did this contest end?

  10. Pingback: Tiger Eyes: The Movie | Are You There Youth? It's Me, Nikki

Leave a Reply

