Awards!

I was lucky enough to receive two awards from Carin at Caroline Bookbinder.  Thanks Carin! 

“A Prolific Blogger is one who is intellectually productive, keeping up an active blog with enjoyable content. After accepting this award, recipients are asked to pass it forward to seven other deserving blogs.”  Well, Carin I’d argue that I’m neither prolific nor intellectually productive.  But then again, I’ve never been able to accept a compliment. 

Honest Scrap Award.
  If calling Jessica Wakefield a cunt or saying Karen Brewer should die in a fiery car crash isn’t honest, I don’t know what is.
For this one, I need to list ten facts about me, and I’m going to try for new facts this time.

1- Seeing a perfect game pitched in baseball gives me chills and makes tears come to my eyes.
2-My mom swears I could recognize letters and words as 18 months.  I think that’s some old-fashioned parental exaggeration.
3-I just had my fourth anniversary of my 29th birthday.  You do the math to figure out my age.
4-Seriously though.  Turning 30 didn’t bother me. Neither did 31 or 32.  33?  Yeah, I hate it.
5-My dog is named Willie.  She’s a girl dog.  And she was named for Willie Stargell, a boy baseball player.
6-Speaking of baseball, one of my favorite books ever is David Maraniss’ biography on Roberto Clemente.  It’s shocking how good a human being one person can be without seeming overly saintly.  And it still makes me want to cry realizing that Manny Sanguillen missed his best friend’s funeral because he was on a search for him.
7-I’m almost finished the seventh (and final) season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  New favorite show.  I don’t know why I didn’t watch it when it actually came on!  Also – expect a random non-book review in the next month or so.
8-And speaking of jumping on a TV show bandwagon a little late – I’m also working my way through Doctor Who. 
9-Part of the reason I started this blog was to give me something that was not work or mommy related to focus on.  It’s been a sanity saver for me.
10-My kid was named for a less-than-savory character in one of my favorite novels of all time.

Now I need to pass on the goodness to some of my other favorite blogs.  Seven to be exact.  I have no idea why the number seven was chosen. 

1-Nostomanic.  Come on people.  Amber admits to making an Affleckollage and tells us how to make a flux capacitor.  Complete with pictures!
2-Dibby Fresh – As always, I bow down to Sadako’s snarkability.
3-The Unprofessional Critic – pop culture takes that manage to be both feminist and feminine.  A tricky combo the the Unpro pulls off perfectly.
4-Fourth Grade Nothing – Oh the nostalgia!  Oh the stories of lost virginity!
5-Literary Crap – It’s not all crap.  AND John Elder Robison commented on one of her posts!
6-The non-review – Non reviews of random goodness.
7-BSC AG– Because someone needs to count up all the halloweens, eighth grade students, fights, candies, etc in the BSC-verse.  And dear god, I don’t want it to be me.

Next book post should be up in the next few days!

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in award. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Awards!

  1. Sadako says:

    Aw, thanks, Nikki! You rock!

  2. magnolia says:

    yay awards! πŸ™‚

  3. Lorelai says:

    Buffy rules, and thanks to the modern wonders that are DVDs and late-night reruns on a Thursday, it rules still.Also, you know who else rules? The Red Sox. Just sayin'.

  4. TS Hendrik says:

    Hey thanks, I really appreciate it!

  5. Eb says:

    I also totally missed the Buffy boat. I'm just watching it now, but I'm only on season 2.Doctor Who is awesome. I'm rewatching the seasons because I hope to go on the Doctor Who tour while in London this summer.

  6. Amber says:

    Once you finish the final season of Buffy you can start reading the comic, which picks up where the show left off. And you have to watch Torchwood when you finish Doctor Who.Thank you so much for the award and supporting my blog these past couple of months. It means a lot to me. Seriously.

  7. RMb says:

    excellent selection of links. thank you for sharing (i hadnt visited the last four). πŸ™‚

  8. nikki says:

    Amber- I've glanced at the season eight graphic novels in the bookstore. They look intersting! I already have Torchwood on my Netflix queue and am going to start watching as soon as I'm through with DW season two in the next few weeks. And your blog is definitely on my top three blogs I always look forward to reading :)Lorelai – I'll forgive you for being a Sox fan. It's easy to forgive…I can barely forgive myself for still being an O's fan.

  9. Katie Fries says:

    New-to-Who fans unite! I just bought the second season but am waiting until my kids are out of school to begin watching because it will be my treadmill entertainment. I have already started watching the new season on BBCA though. I'm trying to get my husband into it but he keeps resisting.

  10. Ally says:

    This is so funny! I'm looking at my stats and see all of this crazy traffic stemming from your blog and I'm like, what the heck? I don't think I'm even in her blog roll, then BAM I see this. Wow! Thanks, girl!

  11. Yaaaay! Thanks Nikki. I heart this blog! Everyone, come read The Unprofessional Critic. πŸ™‚

  12. nikki says:

    Katie – I'm a bad mom who lets her three (and a half, he'll tell you) watch Dr. Who with me. Ally – I actually thought you were in my blogroll. Fixed.

  13. Sadako says:

    Speaking of stats, I actually get craaaazy traffic from your site, Nikki. In terms of other blogs I get the most from this and BSC Chronologically.

  14. Ally says:

    I didn't mean that in a bad way, I just mean, girl you get some insane traffic on this blog!

  15. Ally says:

    Sadako – It goes to show you "followers" don't mean squat. It's as if Nikki has 100000 secret followers! It's all about "readers"!

  16. nikki says:

    No, it's OK Ally. I just really thought you were in my blogroll! I'm happy to have you there.

Leave a Reply

