Sorry for the non-post post

I had a crazy busy last few days.  My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend in Pittsburgh, which was also part of his birthday present (well, the tickets to the Penguins game were for his birthday).  Overall it was a great weekend marred by the news of his Grandmother’s death while we were driving home on Monday.  In a weird twist of fate, she lives in the “Burgh, and we’d just visited her Saturday.  We knew she was ill, but the nurses had assured us that she was on the mend, and she seemed like it.  She was obviously sick, but she was lucid and told us she was taken off an oxygen mask and put on the nasal O2.  So we weren’t overly concerned.  Our memories of the Penguins game will remain bittersweet.  My husband and his grandmother bonded their whole lives through Pittsburgh sports and were even discussing the Pirates hitting prospects when we saw her on Saturday. 

That’s a really long explanation for why I’m not doing a real post this week. 

Also to let you all know that I’m going to take another shot at nanowrimo this year.  Which means all the writing I do in November will be for that, not this blog.  If you’re interested in guest blogging, please send me an email nhboisture (at) gmail(dot) com.  Let me know you’re interested and what book you’d like to review.  If I get a huge response and can’t use all my potential guesties, well, come February I’ll need more of you while I take care of a newborn. 

Until next week…….

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in personal shit. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sorry for the non-post post

  1. Sadako says:

    Sorry about your husband's grandmother. Hope you two are doing okay.I just emailed you about doing a guest blog post for November.

  2. Sorry to hear about that. I have missed your blog posts. My condoleces to your husband's family and you in your time of grief.

  3. Michelle says:

    I'm so very sorry, Nikki. My condolences to you and your family.

  4. Nikki, I am so sorry. Am sending good thoughts your way.Will email you about a guest blog.

  5. P.S. I'm doing NaNoWriMo as well!

  6. Mia says:

    I'm sorry to hear about your loss. My thoughts go out to your family.I'm also very jealous that you went to the Pens game. I'm a huge Pens fan and I don't know if I'm going to be able to afford going to a game this year.

  7. Fran says:

    Yes, Nikki I'm sorry about your loss. I went through a similar situation recently when my grandfather passed away. He was a gigantic LSU fan and we were lucky enough to take him to a game just before he passed away.I'm also jealous of the Pens game. Mia, I feel your pain about not being able to afford tickets this year!

  8. So sorry to hear about your loss. Your family is in our thoughts.

  9. Anonymous says:

    I'm so sorry about your husband's grandma my thoughts and prayers are with you

  10. Nicole says:

    I'm doing it as well! What's your page – can we buddy up?

  11. nikki says:

    Thanks for all the thoughts and prayers everyone. Nicole – my nano screen name is nikkihb. I think I'm gonna need all the encouraging buddies I can get!

Leave a Reply

