New Year. New Look. Same Mediocre Content.

I’ve been saying for a while now that I wanted to make the switch from Blogger to WordPress, and I finally got off my ass and did it.  I could go into the myriad reasons I had for wanting to make the switch, but that’s a long story.  Not really long so much as boring, I guess.

Anyway, I’m still making some tweaks to the site, but it’s at least functional now.  I’m sorry some of the formatting got screwed up on my old posts a little on the switch over, but I’m not going through 149 posts to fix paragraphs and margins.  So…sorry.

Oh, that’s another thing.  This is my 150th post!  I probably won’t get to a book post this week because I’m going to keep working on the site itself a little bit.  And you know, that whole Christmas and family thing.  But I promise you next week either a continuation of California Diaries or The Trouble with Thirteen.

The old site on Blogger will remain up for a while until I get this one to the point I feel more comfortable.

Thanks for making the move over with me!

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in personal shit. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Year. New Look. Same Mediocre Content.

  1. Alison says:

    Congratulations on the shiny new switch over and the 150th post! I approve. I also approve of the ‘personal shit’ tag.

  2. Charli says:

    Nice! Happy New Year!

  3. Amy Whipple says:

    Welcome to the good side. (;

  4. Shannon says:

    Nice!

    I’ve been pondering a move to WordPress myself. It could be I’m too lazy though…

  5. Laura says:

    I like the new look! And I always like the content. 🙂

  6. M.R. says:

    Since I had to swing over here to update my RSS feed, I figured now was as good a time as any to say that I love your blog!

    And not that it’s relevant, but I may have to do this wordpress thing too, sometime soon.. it seems like everyone’s migrating over here.

  7. Melissa says:

    cool that’s awesome nikki. Hope things turn out good for you.

  8. Sadako says:

    Congrats on the move. It looks really nice. Is it hard to move everything over but still keep things like comments? I’m still contemplating making the move myself.

    • nikkihb says:

      Moving everything is easy. When you export from Blogger, it automatically includes comments and tags (which are called categories here) and most (but not all) images. Things that don’t export are your blogroll (which I’m still working on completing mine) and most of the shit in your sidebar.

      My biggest problem started when I was ready to go. I learned, too late, that Blogger doesn’t allow for automatic redirects from their site. So that means I have the link up to the new site for now. Then in a few months, I’m going to delete all my old posts on blogger. Because right now if someone does a google search and they end up directed to one of my old posts, it will direct them to the Blogger post, because the wordpress one is considered a duplicate. So that’s kind of a pain in the ass.

      Honestly, if you haven’t been having major problems with Blogger, I’d probably just stay there. I really moved because I was constantly getting 503 error messages, especially from my mobile, and because three times in the last few months both the Publish and Save Draft buttons froze up on me, leaving all my hard work unsaveable and unpublishable. I just don’t have the time to rewrite even a handful of posts.

  9. Jennifer says:

    Love the new site. Let me know how the switch to WordPress goes. I have been debating moving there as well but so far am undecided.

  10. Sequoia says:

    If your arlietcs are always this helpful, “I’ll be back.”

Leave a Reply

