Can blogs and babies mix?

So, you all know (or maybe you don’t) that I’m having myself a baby in a few weeks.  I’m so sure you’ve all been waiting with baited (bated?) breath for baby news on the Are You There Youth front.   The only immediate report I have is about more frequent contractions this past week and (TMI!) marginal dilation.  Oh, and a possible plan to be induced on the 25th thanks to a pregnancy related pinched nerve in my hip making it difficult for me to walk normally anymore.   More important than any silly old labor and delivery, though, is what will happen to my blog once the baby’s born?

For those of you who have kids, you know that the first month, probably the first two months really, you exist in a sphere called “survival mode.”  Newborns are fucking hard. And once this babe comes along, I’ll be starting something new in my life: Stay At Home Motherhood.  Which I’m both excited and fucking terrified about.  Because not only will I have the new one, but my four year old son as well.  All day.  Every day.  Yay?  I mean, Yay! (?)

So –  the blog.  For a while at least, I might not be posting as often.  And they might not always be book-related blogs.  I’ve already written a couple of general nostalgia blogs that I can bust out and hit publish if too much time goes by.  So there’s that.  But as far as me having time to sit and read (and take notes) and write a post?  Not likely.  Book posts that I do manage to get done will likely be shorter than usual.  And probably filled with grammatical errors due to extreme fatigue.  I’m also ALWAYS accepting volunteers for guest posts.

But, I need you to know that I’m not abandoning the blog.

*clears throat for a moment of earnest seriousness*

In 2006 after my first son was born, I…uh…didn’t handle things so well.  Like I said, newborns are hard and I was honestly an emotional fucking wreck.  I probably was suffering an undiagnosed case of PPD.  Everyone says to relax when you have a new baby and to sleep when the baby sleeps, which is what I tried to do.  About a month into new motherhood, my  newborn son was sleeping and instead of trying to sleep, I went online.  I logged into my Myspace (remember that?) account for the first time in weeks and I reconnected with friends.  And I posted to a few groups I was a member of.  And you know what?  That is what made me feel better than any stupid nap could have.  I was bored and lonely and I missed contact with people other than the pediatrician and the clerk at Safeway.  The internet gave me that connection.

I started this blog when my son was not quite two years old.  This is basically my only creative outlet, and it’s become so important to me.  I’ve met and had email conversations with several of you, which is one of the things that I love most about this YA/snark/nostalgia/book community I’ve discovered.  A connection with people that I- gasp – have things in common with!

So if weeks go by and you don’t see a new post, please don’t fear.  I wouldn’t give this blog up without a little warning.  My pet peeve?  People who don’t post a goodbye entry when they decide to quit blogging.   I swear, I’ll never get too busy to do that, at the very least.

*ends seriousness*

Now.  Off to make new life!

Also, don’t forget to enter the California Diaries giveaway!  One week left to enter……

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in general, personal shit. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Can blogs and babies mix?

  1. magnolia says:

    put me down for a guest post at some point in the future. and congratulations in advance!

  2. Sadako says:

    Also wishing early congrats. (And an early, “Hang in there, baby!”)

    I already contacted you about possible guest posts but am reiterating that I’m still up for it.

  3. A million congrats, Nikki! I don’t think I will ever undertake parenthood, which makes me even more admiring of those who do. Be safe and know your readers are here for you!

    I too am happy to guest post if you need one. My email address has changed: it’s now maybeimamazed02(at)gmail(dot)com.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Congrats on the new baby! Don’t be afraid to ask for help if you need it- those newborn days can be so awful and exhausting (with my son, I used to go through these godawful hormonal shifts that made me feel like sobbing and vomiting at the same time. WTF is that?!?).

    Take it easy and I look forward to reading your awesome snark whenever you’re up to it. 🙂

    • nikkihb says:

      Oh yes! I went through that with kid #1. I’m HOPING it’s better this time. At the very least, I feel more prepared for the raging hormones.

      Here’s a joke:
      How do you make a hormone?

      Answer:
      You don’t pay her!

  5. Caitlin says:

    I am jealous of you, mostly because you get to have your baby very soon and I have to wait til July, but also because my blog lies dusty and neglected and doesn’t mix with pregnancy, let alone an infant. I don’t know how you blog pregnant. With a kid already. Hopefully once we move and have home internet (this was my boyfriend’s genius money saving idea. It is not genius, and I’m getting the damn internet in our new place) I can do more with it.

    I did finally get diagnosed with HG and got put on nifty no-more-vomit pills so I am feeling better these days. Still…being pregnant blows.

    • nikki says:

      My secret to blogging is to write most of my posts at work during my lunch hour. Then I can just make corrections, add images and publish them lickety split after my kid goes down to bed. When I quit work, I’ll be losing that guaranteed hour at lunch obviously. That’s what’s going to make it so hard.

      I hope your pregnancy improves. It sucks to be so sick, especially considering you’ve probably been told how much better you’d feel in the second trimester.

      I will say that the internet is an ABSOLUTE necessity for a new mom. I’m not really exaggerating when I say that was my lifeline after I had my first. Make sure your man knows that!

  6. Fran says:

    Congrats on the baby and here’s to hoping you have a healthy delivery! I always enjoy reading your posts and it’s nice to know that you don’t plan to abandon your blog entirely.

  7. Mary says:

    Congratulations! Hope all goes well with the delivery and you have a happy, healthy baby to hold soon. I certainly don’t think anyone will begrudge you taking some time off the blog to, you know, be a mom. I hear that’s kind of an important job.

    (I got my California Diary in the mail today — thanks! It’s been far too long since I’ve read anything by ANM and company. I appreciate the handout.)

  8. Mountain Mama says:

    I first joined facebook during my first maternity leave. At 4am while nursing. :). I can’t wait to hear your good news!

    • nikki says:

      The happiest day of my life was when I realized I could prop Grady up with a boppy and one hand while breastfeeding and manage to prop up a book in the other hand. At that time we only had a desktop computer, so I couldn’t play on the internet while nursing. But we’re getting an iPad tomorrow (Dave won it through a work contest!) so I’ll be able to keep in touch AND feed my baby at the same time. I’m crazy excited for it.

      Your boys are getting so big, by the way! The twins will be one soon, right?

  9. Molly says:

    Congratulations on your second little fella being on his way! You’ll be missed!

  10. bscag says:

    I’ve been having some PPD stuff too, and I find that getting a little thing accomplished, like a blog post, helps with the “feeling normal” again. But that’s me. I hope that you don’t have any trouble adjusting to your baby, and that any time spent away from your blog is spent loving your family.

  11. Amber says:

    I’ve never had a kid but definitely learned how all-consuming the tiny ones are after babysitting my 16 month old cousin last week. I also learned that you should never give toddlers undiluted apple juice–it’s basically like baby Four Loko.

    Anyway, congrats in advance!

    • nikkihb says:

      Ha! I still dilute my four year old’s juice. And I give him sprite at restaurants instead of juice because it actually has less sugar than juice. He’s hyper enough.

  12. Sada says:

    So excited for you and your family! And for your eventual return to blogging. 🙂

  13. Michelle says:

    Hey, Nikki, long time no see– Congrats on the baby! I’d be interested in doing a guest post, but it seems I’ve misplaced your email address.

  14. Alison says:

    Gah! Baby! Soon! Staying at home!

    That is all very exciting. Good luck!

    P.S. I’d be open to the idea of a guest post in the future!

    So many exclamation marks!

Leave a Reply

