I had me a baby

Even though I had an induction date and time all planned, my second-born had his own plans. Those plans included me going into labor at three in the morning on the 22nd- during a snow storm bad enough that no one could make it to our house to watch the big boy. We ended up driving at a paltry fifteen miles an hour to drop him off at his daycare teacher’s house at a quarter to six, then on to the hospital, behind a snow plow most of the way. I’m a fast laborer, and was already 5cm when we made it there. The rest was cake. If by cake I mean the most painful and difficult experience on my life. August Gregory came into the world at 9:43 that morning. We call him Gus.

I have a couple of guest bloggers lined up, as well as some posts I’ve been working on the last few months (ahem, if I can manage to find my thumb drive where I saved them…) so that’s the plan for now. Once those posts are up, perhaps I will be far less sleep deprived and will find time for more reading and writing.

Until then, my days consist of sitz baths and zoning out in front of Doctor Who while breastfeeding a baby with a bottomless stomach.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in personal shit. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I had me a baby

  1. Maggie says:

    Congratulations! I love the name August. 🙂

  2. Alison says:

    Congratulations to you and your entire family!

    I might just be in love with the name August. It is seriously awesome.

  3. Molly says:

    Congratulations!

  4. cia says:

    Congratulations!! I love his name, although I have to smile that he’s named August despite being born during a snowstorm. 🙂

  5. Lia says:

    Congrats!!!

  6. Fran says:

    Congratulations! What a beautiful name!

  7. Congratulations on your man Gus! And I love the daycare teacher for taking in big brother. Enjoy your sitz baths – it’s sad when the greatest luxury in your day is sitting in tepid salt water!

  8. Stephanie says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!! What a great story, and I absolutely adore your son’s name, first, middle and nickname.

    Stephanie, whose son has the same middle name 🙂

  9. Ren says:

    Congratulations!

  10. Sadako says:

    Nikki, congrats! And happy belated birthday to Gus!

    I’m one of your guest bloggers–when did you want that post by?

  11. CONGRATS! Love the name! Happy Babymoon!

  12. Jasdramaqueen says:

    Yay! Congrats! Big fan of this blog so all the best and looking forward to your posts, however sporadically they appear fom now on!

  13. Battlekitten says:

    Yay baby! I’m glad everything worked out well. Sleep when the baby sleeps and all that other nonsense that doesn’t work that people tell you. I’m in awe that you can manage this blog with two little ones. I can’t even manage to make my own lunch with my two.

  14. Alana says:

    Congratulations to you and baby Gus!

  15. Amber says:

    August is such a fantastic name!

    This almost makes me want to have a baby just so I can watch Doctor Who all day.

    Congrats!

  16. Michelle says:

    w00t! Congrats, Nikki! I’m very happy to hear the good news 🙂

  17. Michelle says:

    Congratulations!!!! 😀 And good luck to you. I love the name.

  18. Karin T says:

    Congrats Nikki and family on your snow baby!!

  19. Sada says:

    Congratulations on your new little mister! Hope you’re all doing well.

  20. Jennifer says:

    I want to watch Dr. Who all day! Congratulations.

  21. Caitlin says:

    Congrats to you and the whole crew! I’m a little jealous…I wish pregnancy only lasted 6 months. Then I’d be practically done. But no. Three more to go.

  22. Elissa says:

    Congrats on the little guy! I love his name, both full and nick.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

