No-Go Nano

In case you haven’t heard, November is National Novel Writing Month, or, Nanowrimo.  Nanowrimo is a challenge to write 50,000 words of a first draft novel in the thirty days of November.  That’s 1,667 words per day.  I participated the last two years, managing a paltry twelve thousand words in 2009, but fifty-six thousand words in 2010.

This year though, I can’t do it.  I just don’t have the time.  And I wish I did and I wracked my brain trying to come up with some sort of system that would allow me an hour a day in November to write.  But I don’t have it. Which is so sad, because I had an idea and had even started character sketches.  But another thing I have is an infant.  And infants and writing just don’t mix.

So I’ve committed myself to being a Nano cheerleader.  If you are nanoing, and I follow your Twitter, I will cheer you anytime you post a word count.  If you are feeling like you can’t possibly write another word, I’ll tweet you some positive words.  I even joined my region’s Facebook group (Go Maryland!) so I can cheer only my fellow Marylanders.

Once I committed myself to being on the sidelines this year, I thought I was comfortable with my decision.  But as October 31st turned into November 1st, my Twitter feed was filled with Nano-related posts.  I didn’t expect to become so sad about my lack of time.  Each tweet raised my level of despondence nearly to the point of tears.  (In my defense, I was terribly PMS-y and have been suffering an extreme lack of sleep since my youngest started sprouting top teeth a week earlier.  Lack of sleep always puts me on edge, and being on edge puts me on the verge of tears 24/7.) I’m still sad about it.

Anyway, if you are Nano-ing this year, I want to wish you the best of luck.  If you want a ridiculous amount of cheering on from me, let me know your Twitter handle and I’ll follow you and send you tweets like “Great Job!  Remember November is about quantity over quality!,” and other lame shit.

And I can’t promise to try, but I promise to try to try to Nano next year.  The baby will be a toddler, the big boy will be in school for full days (he’s in half-day preschool now, a cooperative school which takes up some of my time), so I can see a possibility of it working out.

On to 2012!

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in personal shit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No-Go Nano

  1. magnolia says:

    i’d say two little ones is a good reason not to commit to a writing marathon with strict parameters. don’t feel too bad.

  2. Lorraine says:

    I’m doing NaNo for the first time this year, though it is proving to be more challenging than I thought. Finding the time is hard under “normal” circumstances. With an infant?! Yeah. Totally good reason to sit this round out. 🙂

    Lorraine
    The Snark Squad

  3. I’m doing it. Despite the fact I may be working soon I’ve been writing almost ridiculously non stop and I pretty much have no idea what i’ve written. All the people who used to read my stuff are AWOL so it’s me and my keyboard.

    Miss you lady xo.

  4. I keep forgetting to write to you about COLIN FARREL AND IN BRUGES. Seriously. I love him for that alone. How brilliant was he in that? Fucking Bruges.

Leave a Reply

