Books read, 2011

Here’s a list of the books I read in 2011.  The books marked with an asterisk were read for this blog, the books in bold are books I recommend.  Usually I read in the neighborhood of sixty books a year.  But when I had the baby in February, I didn’t read a single book for a good three months. 

My favorite discovery of the year is John Green.  The best book I read this year is The Magician King, by Lev Grossman.  The best book I read for the blog this year was The Trouble with Thirteen.  The funniest book I read this year is Bossypants by Tina Fey – I can barely describe how much I love Tina Fey.  The worst book was easily Sweet Valley Confidential.  I can’t even really say it was so bad it was good….it was just bad. 

1. The Trouble with Thirteen; Betty Miles*
2. Slam; Nick Hornby

3. California Diaries #13: Ann M. Martin*
4. A Great and Terrible Beauty; Libba Bray
5. California Diaries #14; Ann M. Martin*

6. The Knife of Never Letting Go; Patrick Ness
7. California Diaries #15; Ann M. Martin*

8. The Ask and the Answer; Patrick Ness
9. Until you Reach Me; Rebecca Stead
10. Maps & Legends; Michael Chabon
11. An Abundance of Katherines; John Green
12. Sweet Valley Confidential; Francine Pascal
13. The Chosen One; Carol Lynch Williams
14. Monsters of Men; Patrick Ness
15. The Cardturner; Louis Sachar

16. Welcome to the BSC, Abby; Ann M. Martin*
17. Rosy Cole’s Great American Guilt Club*

18. The Jellyfish Season; Mary Downing Hahn*
19. The Magician King; Lev Grossman
20. Will Grayson, Will Grayson; John Green & David Levithan
21. Middle School Blues; Lou Kassem*
22. How I Paid for College; Marc Acito
23. Three Willows; Ann Brashares
24. It Sucked and then I Cried: Heather B. Armstrong
25. Claudia and the New Girl, Ann M. Martin*
26. Looking for Alaska; John Green

27. Mary Anne’s Makeover; Ann M. Martin*
28. Where’s My Wand? Eric Poole

29: Family Secrets; Norma Klein*
30. Bossypants; Tina Fey
31. While Mortals Sleep; Kurt Vonnegut
32. Everything I need to Know About Being a Girl, I learned From Judy Blume; ed by Jennifer O’Connell

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Books read, 2011

  1. shawnie says:

    I got the Cardturner for Christmas and really liked it, but I like playing bridge so I am not sure I’m a good judge. What did you think?

  2. Alissa says:

    have you read “papertowns” by john green? it’s also really good!

  3. Sadako says:

    Hey, do you mean *When* You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead?

    • nikkihb says:

      Oh, yes I did. Good call. That’s the book I read in the hospital after I delivered Gus. By the time I added it to my list on Goodreads, I must have forgotten the title 🙂

Leave a Reply

