Where I been at

Sweet November. It came and went with nary a blog post from this gal. What was I doing? Trying to win NaNoWriMo. I was not successful – I only wrote a bit over 30,000 words. However, I don’t consider the entire thing a wash. Because for once, I don’t totally hate what I wrote. Also, because I didn’t push myself too hard to get to the 50,000 word goal, I didn’t burn myself out. When I won back in 2010, I was so exhausted from just trying to get to 50k, that I couldn’t even bring myself to write anything for months. This time though? I feel like I could sit down right now and continue working. But I’m not, I’m writing this post instead.

But there was a little bit of a tragedy mixed in all this. My memory stick, which held this year’s Nano novel, 2010’s Nano novel as well as almost every single thing I’ve written in the last four years broke. And guess what I had backed up? Most of this year’s novel (I lost about 1,500 words) and most of 2010’s novel (I lost about 7,000 words). That’s it. NOTHING else was backed up. Ideas for blog posts, fanfics, other stories I’ve written. Gone…gone. I’m not being sarcastic in any way when I say I cried a little bit. Data recovery didn’t work, either.

But, I pushed on. I thought about what I had lost, and I realized most of it wasn’t my best work. I’m going forward, backing everything up now, and committing myself to being a better writer than I have in the last four years. To that end, my next post should be up around the end of the week, and it will be a look at the sequel to the last Lurlene McDaniel book I reviewed.

Glad to be back on the blog.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in personal shit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where I been at

  1. ~*April*~ says:

    I must say I love your blog, its like a time machine back to my childhood. I do have a question for you. I know basically review kids’ or young adult books but have you thought about review Judy Blume’s adult books like Wifey, Smart Women and my ultimate favorite Summer Sisters? Keep up the wonderful work and if you don’t respond this before Christmas, have a wonderful and safe holiday with your friends and family 🙂

Leave a Reply

