Do we really need to stop these words?

Lately I’ve been noticing an increasing trend of people who are really upset over words and phrases popularly used on the internet.

image courtesy of 'Your Opinion is Wrong.'

image courtesy of ‘Your Opinion is Wrong.’

The Bloggess (who I LOVE) wrote this recently, and while this was mostly tongue-in-cheek and offered some very funny substitutes, like {{{{humping}}}} instead of ((((hugs))))), her readers who left comments spared no vitriol for such random words & phrases as awesomesauce, the feels, amazeballs, dying, I can’t even, makes me stabby, epic, and about a million other things. Which is was so weird. Because people are really bothered by this?

And it’s not just The Bloggess. I’ve seen it other places. Like this Gawker article, for instance. You’ll note at the beginning of the article, Gawker is totally cool with us using the word ‘retard,’ but for God’s sake, DON’T USE THE PHRASE ‘Good Times.’ Wait, what? How in the ever loving fuck is Good Times worse than retard? Granted, I’ve hated Gawker ever since they once said people shouldn’t wear Doctor Who T-shirts. (Like, do they care about my wardrobe AT ALL?)

Even College Humor got in on it with this article. We all know nothing is worse than butthurt. I don’t mean actual butthurt, I mean having to read the word butthurt. It must make them really stabby and butthurt to read about butthurt.

Here’s the thing. We have the internet, and the internet has changed the way we communicate in the last couple decades. We now have the ability to connect with people in ways that were previously unimaginable. Just like there are local colloquialisms and regional dialects, there are internet colloquialisms as well. And rather than being annoyed by it, we should embrace it. The fact that someone, somewhere was the first to use the word awesomesauce, and it spread as fast as it did isn’t awful. It’s really fucking amazing.

And perhaps, rather than being a bunch of fucking Debbie Downers about it, maybe we could all just do ourselves a favor and realize just how fucking amazing it is. Language is developing quickly and from the masses. Why would you waste your time being annoyed by Amazeballs? How can you not see how amazeballs the word amazeballs is? Are you so clouded by your complex of superiority over people who use amazeballs to not see that it is amazeballs? One more time: Amazeballs. Just to annoy you.

You  know what word is used a lot? The. The is probably the most common word I use. But I don’t complain about it. I don’t think it’s overused. I say, hear, read and write the word THE at a rate of about 1,000,000 times more than awesomesauce or amazeballs. I don’t see awesomesauce or amazeballs enough to even CONSIDER being annoyed by it.

Maybe I don’t annoy as easily as others? But seriously, somebody tell me why these supposedly overused words make people stabby instead of gloriously mind-bogglingly happy. How can you not read these words and be in absolute awe with what we’ve created in the last couple decades?

Thankfully, other people can see reason.

(Also – I’m completely ignoring the red squiggles under amazeballs and awesomesauce.)

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in general, rant. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Do we really need to stop these words?

  1. TS Hendrik says:

    ^This.

    Some people are bound by the rules they learned as a child and can’t understand that language is meant to be fun. It doesn’t really bother me when some complain, just amuses.

    • nikkihb says:

      The older I get, the less strict I am about language and grammar. Poor grammar still bothers me, but I adore the newness that the internet brings to language.

  2. Kelly says:

    Have the courage of your convictions. Add amazeballs and awesomesauce to your word processor’s dictionary.

  3. youngadultish.com says:

    Yes! This! The other day, someone was complaining about the fact that Taco Bell has made up the word “melty” and I thought, what’s the big deal? The beauty of language is that it’s constantly evolving. I find it more fascinating than annoying. Great post!

    • Tafadhali says:

      Which, please — if it is an adjective formed by adding -y to a noun or verb, chances are it has been around for ages, and indeed the first recorded use of “melty” in the OED is from 1921. The first use of it in re: quesadillas is from 1980, which I am constantly shocked to realize was over thirty years ago. Adding -y’s to things is how we got half the descriptive words in our language.

      (By which I mean, I agree!)

  4. Akilah says:

    Ha, I am annoyed by expressions ALL THE TIME, but I also use annoying expressions all the time. I would list the ones I find annoying, but it doesn’t matter. What matters is that capslock was once the devil and now I use it for emphasis A LOT. (See what I did there?) I mean, I don’t begrudge people who use annoying expressions, but I will roll my eyes when I see it.

    I just see it as a personal preference thing, so I won’t make someone else feel bad for doing it is what I’m saying.

Leave a Reply

