Books read 2013

Screenshot 2013-12-28 at 21.54.16

 

Image from Goodreads

 

Yes, there are a few days left of the year. But I’m going to be pretty busy, so I doubt I’ll be able to finish another book this year. So here’s my annual list of what I read. I read much more than last year – but I think that is because I increased my graphic novel intake. And I can rip through graphic novels pretty quickly.

Asterisked books are those that I read for this blog (whether a post ever got written is another story entirely), and bold is for books I highly recommend.

Hands down, the best book I read this year is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I want to doubly or triply bold it.

1. Every Day is an Atheist Holiday: Penn Jillette

2. Anastasia Krupnik; Lois Lowry*                                                                                               3. Ender’s Game; Orson Scott Card

4. Every Day; David Levithan

5. The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place; E.L. Konigsburg*

6. Things Go Wrong for Me; Rodney Lacroix

7. Beanpole: Barbara Park*

8. God, No!: Penn Jillette

9. A Study in Scarlet: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

10. Mary Anne Saves the Day – the graphic novel: Ann M. Martin & Reina Telegemeier *

11. The TV Kid – Betsy Byars*

12. Doctor Who: The Hypothetical Gentleman

13. The Lonely Polygamist: Brady Udall

14. Where’d You Go, Bernadette: Maria Semple 

15. Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire (audiobook): JK Rowling, read by Jim Dale

16. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened; Jenny Lawson

17. Dad is Fat; Jim Gaffigan

18: Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac; Gabrielle Zevin*

19. The Secrets of Droon #1; Tony Abbott

20. This One is Mine; Maria Semple

21. Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 9 – Guarded; Georges Jeanty, et al

22. Doctor Who, The Eye of Ashaya;

23. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone; JK Rowling

24. The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter; David Colbert

25. The Year We Left Home; Jean Thompson

26. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets; JK Rowling

27. Off Balance; Dominique Moceanu

28. Self-Inflicted Wounds; Aisha Tyler

29. The Rainbow Kid; Jeanne Betancourt*

30. The Bedwetter; Sarah Silverman

31. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: JK Rowling

32. BSC Friends Forever, Graduation Day; Ann M. Martin*

33. Sign of the Four; Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

34. Smile; Raina Telgemeier*

35: Slapstick; Kurt Vonnegut

36. PS Longer Letter Later; Ann M. Martin, Paula Danziger*

37: Out of my Mind: Sharon Draper*

38: Chuck Klosterman IV; Chuck Klosterman

39. Jedi Academy: Jeff Brown

40. Elsewhere; Gabrielle Zevin

41. Geography Club: Brent Hartinger

42: Outliers; Malcolm Gladwell

43: Superman Earth One: Volume 1;  J.Michael Straczynski, et al

44. Superman Earth One: Volume 2; J. Michael Straczynski, et al

45. Drama: Raina Telgemeier

46. The Nerdist Way: Chris Hardwick

47. Fangirl: Rainbow Rowell 

48. The War Between the Classes: Gloria Miklowitz*

49. Naked Pictures of Famous People: Jon Stewart

50. The End of the Suburbs; Leigh Gallagher

51. The Spectacular Now; Tim Tharp

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in general. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Books read 2013

  1. Tara-Chan says:

    That’s a good amount of books read this year 🙂 I keep seeing Fangirl be recommended, so I’ll have to check it out one day.

  2. Sarah says:

    I kept a list for the first time this year, and will probably top out at 22, assuming I can finish my current book in the next two days. I also read the Harry Potter books this year. Were you reading for the first time or revisiting?

  3. SterlingQ says:

    I will have to check out Fangirl! Happy 2014! Wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog! I never comment but I always look forward to your posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

