“Now we can duck hunt together,” or, Weetzie Bat

Screenshot 2014-12-28 at 19.27.52

Image courtesy of Goodreads

I don’t know what to even think of this book.

On one hand, I read it quickly and didn’t seem to enjoy it much while I was reading. But on the other hand, I can’t stop thinking about it so it must have had some effect on me, even if I can’t quite define what that effect is.

Weetzie Bat is a girl of an undefined age (but I’m thinking seventeen or eighteen) who befriends Dirk. They are inseparable best friends and they spend their days hooking up with various guys who they call ducks.

Dirk’s grandma loves Weetzie and gives her an old lamp, out of which a genie pops and gives Weetzie three wishes. She wishes for guys for herself and Dirk and for a house for them to all live in. Then Grandma Fifi dies and leaves her house to Dirk and Weetzie. They live there, and Dirk falls in love with Duck (see, because Weetzie asked for a Duck for Dirk.)

Eventually a filmmaker called My Secret Agent Lover Man (named for the same reason as Duck) falls in love with Weetzie and they four of them live together.

Then Weetzie wants a baby, but My Secret Agent Lover Man doesn’t. So Weetzie sleeps with Dirk and Duck (and of course with My Secret Agent Lover Man) and becomes pregnant and they all raise the baby together. They have a girl, who is named Cherokee Bat.

My Secret Agent Lover Man is unhappy with the situation and leaves Weetzie, but he eventually comes back. Several months later, a baby is left on their doorstep, the product of a fling My Secret Agent Lover Man had while he was gone. They decide to raise this girl as a sister for Cherokee. They want to call her Lily, but she ends up being called Witch-Baby, because her mom was a witch.

Also, Weetzie’s dad Charlie Bat dies, and one of Duck’s friends dies of AIDS, but they never mention the word AIDS which is weird.

I don’t know. I really don’t. The book is short and it took me about an hour to read the whole thing. The language is super simple and there is little in the way of emotional development or descriptors. And it’s really weirdly hipster-y and we’re supposed to love that Weetzie wears Native American headdresses (ugh) and they call their car Jerry and the dog Slinkster.

But….but. I don’t know. I keep thinking about it. And maybe even though there wasn’t a lot of emotional pull to the characters while reading it, something must have been there because I’m still hoping that Weetzie and Dirk and the gang are OK. (There are sequels, but I probably will never get around to reading them.)

Also, I’m drunk -posting right now.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in francesca lia block, teen sex and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Now we can duck hunt together,” or, Weetzie Bat

  1. It was a strange book, even for me, and I grew up in that time and in a community like that one. If you ever do feel inspired to read subsequent books, I’d suggest “Baby Be-Bop” (the fifth in the original sequence, in which we find out more about Duck, and “Necklace of Kisses”, which picks up some twenty years after the first book. (https://josephinereadersadvisory.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/necklace-of-kisses-by-francesca-lia-block/ and https://josephinereadersadvisory.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/francesca-lia-blocks-dangerous-angels/)

  2. marineko says:

    Weetzie Bat was one of my very favourite books from high school, one of the ones I might even say changed me in a significant way, but I probably will never reread it now. I suspect it’s one of those books that I can only fully appreciate at a certain age. That, and the fact that YA fiction has evolved so much since then. (And the headdress-wearing! I “ugh” with you.) Of all the Weetzie Bat books, Witch Baby (about Witch Baby, obviously :D) and Baby Be-Bop (about Dirk and Duck) were my favourites, though.

  3. Jennalee says:

    This book is one of those amazing finds that changed my life. I can’t even say how much I love Francesca Lia Block’s books. It’s a strange one and some of the stuff is very Wtf but it’s just magical. Eventually she wrote a bunch of other stories about the rest of her characters and then Necklace Of Kisses which is soooooooooo good. Yay!

  4. Jenny Lynn says:

    Yeah, never really could get into Francesca Lia Block. I’m with you: she comes across as way too twee and hipsterish for me. It’s times like this I wish Sadako still updated her blog, Dibbly Fresh. Loved her takedown of several of Francesca Lia Block’s books.

  5. Jenn Matters says:

    FLB was my main read in HS (alongside Vampire Diaries and anything by Charles de Lint). Weetzie Bat is probably my east favorite character in that world (with Witch Baby being the fave). She’s definitely an acquired taste, and like the poster above, I don’t know if I could go back and re-read her books now.

  6. Akilah says:

    I could never get into Francesca Lia Block, though I have read several (or two) of her books. I know some people who love her deeply, though, so I think she is super perfect for a specific type of reader but not necessarily for me.

  7. Jenny Lynn says:

    And yeah, totally with you on the Indian headdress thing. Cultural appropriation? Totally not cool, especially when taken into account that said headdress were often used in religious ceremonies. You wouldn’t run around in a yarmulke because you thought it looked cool; don’t do the same with Indian attire.

  8. Jennalee says:

    I guess I’m the weird one since I reread these books off the hook lol

  9. Sounds like the book would have been better if you read it while drunk as well lol

Leave a Reply

