Books read 2015

I haven’t been a great blogger this year, and I don’t see that improving anytime in the near future. Still, I managed 50 books this year, which was nice. Actually more than 50, I wasn’t very good about keeping track of the books I read with my kids.

Books read for the blog have an asterisk*, books I highly recommend are bolded.

  1. Yes Please; Amy Poehler
  2. Batman: Hush; Jeph Loeb, et al
  3. Diary of a Wimpy Kid, The Long Haul; Jeff Kinney
  4. Grasshopper Jungle; Andrew Smith
  5. The Shadow Hero; Gene Luen Yang
  6. Mother.Wife.Sister.Human.Warrior.Falcon.Yardstick. Turban.Cabbage; Rob Delaney
  7. Remember Me to Harold Square; Paula Danziger*
  8. The Age of Miracles; Karen Thompson Walker
  9. Find a Stranger Say Goodbye; Lois Lowry*
  10. Gone Girl; Gillian Flynn
  11. Andre the Giant; Box Brown
  12. American Savage; Dan Savage
  13. American Born Chinese; Gene Luen Yang
  14. Caleb’s Crossing; Geraldine Brooks
  15. I’ll be Seeing You; Lurlene McDaniel*
  16. Curveball; The Year I Lost my Grip: Jordan Sonnenblick
  17. Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe; Benjamin Alire Saenz
  18. Half-Broke Horses; Jeannette Walls
  19. El Deafo; Cece Bell
  20. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian; Sherman Alexie
  21. Ultimate Spiderman vol 3; Brian Michael Bendis, et al
  22. Doll in the Garden; Mary Downing Hahn*
  23. Wonder Woman Vol 5, Flesh; Brian Azzarello, et al
  24. Outlander; Diana Gabaldon
  25. The Affair of the Porcelain Dog; Jess Faraday
  26. In the Unlikely Event; Judy Blume
  27. Go Set a Watchman; Harper Lee
  28. BSC #23, Dawn on the Coast; Ann M. Martin*
  29. I don’t Know What you Know Me From; Judy Greer
  30. Station Eleven; Emily St. John Mandel
  31. Daredevil; Mark Waid, et al
  32. I Funny (audiobook); James Patterson, read by Frankie Seratch
  33. The Miseducation of Cameron Post; Emily Danforth
  34. The Alex Crow; Andrew Smith
  35. Superfudge; Judy Blume*
  36. The Silkworm; Robert Galbraith
  37. Carry On; Rainbow Rowell
  38. Daredevil, vol. 2; Mark Waid, et al
  39. Nimona; Noelle Stevenson
  40. The Rest of Us Just Live Here; Patrick Ness
  41. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks; Rebecca Skloot
  42. Daredevil Vol. 5; Mark Waid, et al
  43. Daredevil Vol. 6; Mark Waid, et al
  44. Daredevil Vol. 7; Mark Waid, et al
  45. The Adoration of Jenna Fox; Mary Pearson
  46. Ultimate Comics Spiderman Vol. 4 Brian Michael Bendis
  47. Ultimate Comics Spiderman Vol 5; Brian Michael Bendis
  48. A Week in Winter; Maeve Binchy
  49. Giant Days Vol. 1; John Allison
  50. Someday This Pain Will Be Useful To You; Peter Cameron

 

Best Book of 2015
I read quite a few good ones, but the best was probably Station Eleven . I’ve recommended it to several people already.

Screenshot 2016-01-01 at 15.30.45

Worst Book of 2015
I read a few of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books with my kids, and they aren’t good. But I’m not really the intended audience, so I’d go with Go Set a Watchman. 

Most Disappointing Book of 2015
Go Set a Watchman. Hands down so fucking disappointing. Not just the book, but the whole way it went about being published.

Most Surprising (in a good way) Book of 2015
The Affair of the Porcelain Dog. I don’t read much from indie publishers, so I was really pleasantly surprised by this one. I’m going to read the two sequels this year.

Book You Recommended to People Most in 2015
Station Eleven. 

Best Series You Discovered in 2015
Mark Waid’s Daredevil. If you’re a fan of the show on Netflix and want to read some of the comics, I recommend this series.

Favourite New Authors You Discovered in 2015
Gene Leun Yang. He’s a great graphic novelist.

Most Hilarious Read of 2015
It’s a tie between Amy Poehler’s Yes Please, and Rob Delaney’s Mother. Wife. Sister. Human. Warrior. Falcon. Yardstick. Turban. Cabbage. 

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book in 2015
Again, I’ve got to go with Station Eleven. I’m going to add Grasshopper Jungle here though, because even though it had its issues, I couldn’t fucking put it down.

Book You Most Anticipated in 2015
In the Unlikely Event because it’s been way too long since we had a new Judy Blume book. (And it didn’t disappoint!)

Favourite Cover of a Book You Read in 2015
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. Rowell’s books all have lovely covers.

Screenshot 2016-01-01 at 15.24.34

Most Memorable Character in 2015
Nimona. Noelle Stevenson has a knack for writing excellent girl characters.

Beautifully Written Book in 2015
Station Eleven. Sorry to keep going back to this one, but it was one of the best books I’ve ever read. I’d also add Gone Girl, because of the amazing use of the unreliable narrator.

Book That Had the Greatest Impact on You in 2015
The Immortal life of Henrietta Lacks. 

Book You Can’t Believe You Waited Until 2014 to Finally Read
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. 

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books read 2015

  1. Such an interesting list. I loved Remember Me to Harold Square when I was a kid. It seemed like such a fun concept to do a scavenger hunt in NYC like that.
    Someone was telling me about El Deafo today. I have two kids with hearing loss, so I definitely want to add that to our bookshelf.
    I’ve heard a lot of people recommend Station Eleven. I haven’t even gotten around to checking it out. (The life of a book blogger…)

Leave a Reply

