All we have is what’s between hello and goodbye

I’ve been plugging away at this blog for over nine years. NINE years! Granted for the last five, my blogging rate has dropped precipitously. And the all the posts I’ve done in the last couple years haven’t been enjoyable to write. It’s been like….well, like work. I have a pretty long list of books and other things I’d like to blog about. Including, but not limited to any of the following:

  • Any of S.E. Hinton’s works, but mostly The Outsiders because it’s so good but also full of shippy goodness.
  • The Mixed-Up Files of Basil E. Frankweiler. I only read it once as a kid and I keep meaning to re-read it as an adult, but I never quite get around to it.
  • More Norma Klein. She never got the praise she deserved
  • Always more BSC, because that was like thing #1 in my childhood
  • The Brady Bunch Movie. How I love it. “Sure, Jan.”
  • The Wayne’s World Movie. Could legit watch that a million more times.
  • The only Y.A. Judy Blume book I never reviewed on the blog, Deenie.
  • More of the Wayside School books.
  • The movie version of A Wrinkle in Time when it comes out. It looks soooo fucking good you guys.
  • Probably lots more but this is just what comes to mind.

Anyway, something occurred to me a while ago. I’m probably not going to do any of them. It’s 2018 and longer-form blogging is a thing of the past (Fuck you, Twitter), as is my desire to create more quality content here.

Honestly though? This blog was one of my favorite things I’ve ever done. I met SO MANY of you here, and have become Facebook friends with quite a few of you. Through the years I’ve seen you do amazing things like graduate college and get masters degrees and get jobs and write books and have kids! I’ll forever be grateful that this weird little YA and nostalgia obsessed community welcomed me. At the height of the blog I was getting several hundred hits on each post, along with many lovely comments. I was interviewed for EW online about it, and my readership grew. But honestly, if I can’t do this as passionately as I want to, I don’t want to do it at all.

So this is goodbye. I’m going to leave this blog up for posterity, and who knows, maybe to occasionally add to.

I’m around though. If you want, you can find me on Twitter, or my Book Review Tumblr, and of course, on Goodreads.

I love you guys very much. It’s not you, it’s me.

About nikkihb

Wife. Mother. Reader. Blogger.
This entry was posted in personal shit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All we have is what’s between hello and goodbye

  1. Annie says:

    Now I know I have a heart, because it’s breaking. Thanks for the mem’ries!

  2. April says:

    I’ll be sad to see you leave but I can see where you are coming from. Thanks for all you did.

  3. Lynn says:

    Aww, I’ll miss this blog. But yeah, everything’s all over Tumblr or Twitter lately, so I get that. I followed bitesizedbookreviews!

  4. Akilah says:

    Aw, I’ll miss your longer blog posts, but I get it. I have never been very good at the long book reviews, so do you, I say.

  5. Alex Horton says:

    Thanks for bringing back all the great memories, as well as giving me a list of new old books to read.

  6. Melissa A says:

    I hear ya. I get blog burnout sometimes. I barely post in my blog as much as I used to. I just got E The Outsiders. I’m excited for him to read it. I have some other S.E. Hinton books for him too. Deenie is one of my favorite Judy Blume books. I read it so many times as a kid. I love Wayne’s World and The Brady Bunch Movie too.

  7. Mark says:

    Are you tired of being human, having talented brain turning to a vampire in a good posture in ten minutes, Do you want to have power and influence over others, To be charming and desirable, To have wealth, health, without delaying in a good human posture and becoming an immortal? If yes, these your chance. It’s a world of vampire where life get easier,We have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich, You will assured long life and prosperity, You shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness, Stronger and also very fast, You will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk, This is an opportunity to have the human vampire virus to perform in a good posture. If you are interested contact us on Vampirelord7878@gmail. com

  8. Charla Stanton says:

    So sad! I just found you, and now it’s over! I have all your previous posts to read at least so thank you for leaving it up for posterity!

Leave a comment